Updated 2 years 7 months ago
 
00:00

My service learning partner is Mr. Yang. He has a wife and two kids and his occupation is taloring. I learned about his hobbies, regrets, favorite days, favorite times, and mistakes. Last but not least he gave us advice about learning and about wanting things. I did not really learn much about Xizhou history but I have learned about the overall history of China. I learned about MaoZeDong and about the Cultural Revolution. We learned about how he could not go to college because of the Cultural Revolution and also the poor conditions that his family had as a child. He told me how he used to go hungry during the Cultural Revolution.
Today we had our service learning presentations. At 2:40 my group escorted Mr. Yang from his house to Yangzhouran. When we arrived it turned out that he was friend with Mr. Zhao and two other service learning partners.
I gave him the USB that he wanted and and orange. When our project started to play everything went silent. My group and I watched Mr. Yang watch our movie. I could not really tell if he like our clip or not. He did speak 2 or 3 times throughout the showing, however I did not understand what he said. At one point he looked kind of sad but it was extremely hard to tell.
After the showing I asked him if he like it and he said it was okay. After the showing he gave me a lot of advice about studying hard and then we went and escorted him back to his house. Mr. Yang was and wise, and intelligent man and I am really glad I got to know him.
For future students I recommend getting a partner as soon as possible, and also have many possible service learning partners because chances are that 1/10 of those people might be willing to be your partner. Finally get a lot of footage just in case.
Above you can find our Final Service Learning Project

About This Learner

Hello, ,my name is Isaac. I am currently 14 years old. I was born in Albany, New York where I lived for 1 year. After that I moved to Cincinnati, Ohio where I lived for 9 years. After those 9 years I finally moved to Shanghai, China where I been living for 4 years and counting. I have one younger sibling whom is in 6th grade and also goes to SAS currently. Some of my hobbies include being outside, playing with friends, and sports especially basketball. Xizhou was a great experience. I had a lot of fun an at the same time learned a lot. Thank you to everyone who made this trip possible for me.