Phase 2: Finding Helpful Resources

Updated 4 years 3 months ago

While I was researching, some keywords I used when researching were; recreation, playtime, recess, rural sports, students in China, games in China, and exercise in China.

I used many different methods to make sure my information was valid. Sometimes I used Google scholar, and I was able check how many citations the article had. The more citations it had, the more I knew that other people had used this article, and that it was trustworthy. With Google scholar I could also check that the article had been made recently, making sure it was up to date. Other times, if I did not use Google scholar, and just used Google, I had to find out if the information was valid, a different way. Lets say I found one website with a lot of information on it. I would then check it with two to three other websites to verify that the information was true and correct.

To find out who was responsible for producing/publishing the information, I had to look in different places on different sights. On some sights, the person who actually wrote the article was listed either above or bellow the article itself. Most of the time though, I had to go to a different tab on the website, either “about” or “about us”.

When I tried to find an expert on my topic, it was very difficult. Instead I found a group of people/ an organization, that goes around China and writes down their experience of where ever they stayed. They are called, "GoKumming", and they were founded in 2005, by Chris Horton. You can go to their website by clicking here. I chose them because they have been to Xizhou, and might know a little bit about recreation in Xizhou.

A sample of my message to GoKumming:

Dear GoKumming,

Hi! My name is Christina, I am twelve years old, and going to Shanghai American School (An international school in Shanghai). I am participating in a month long trip, called Microcampus, that takes eighth grade students from my school, to Xizhou. While we are there, we do an inquiry project on anything that interests us. The topic I have chosen is, Recreation/hobbies in Xizhou. To find my project you can go here: http://www.sasmicrocampus.org/projects/blogs/564/students

My top ten questions are:

1) What are the differences between how Chinese children in rural China play currently, and how their parents played when they were children?

2) Do kids in rural China have recess?

3) What are some of the Chinese students' favorite games to play and why?

4) Where do kids in the Xizhou go to play?

5) How important is it to have "friends" to a typical Chinese child?

6) Where do adults go after work?

7) Do people in rural China have the same number of days (144) off as Chinese people do in Shanghai?

8) Who takes care of the children?

9) What do adults do in rural China to stay healthy?

10) What do adults do in rural China to stay healthy?

I was wondering if you could assist me in any way.

Sincerely,

Christina

So far I have not heard back from GoKumming.

To find people to interview and talk to, I talked to four people, who knew a little bit about who might now a LOT about my topic. I interviewed Mr. T, Ms. Mai, Fay, and Xiao Tang. I chose to talk to these four people, because they seemed to know a lot of people, and therefor, could tell me who to go talk to. Now that I have talked to them, I have a list of people, who I might want to go talk to, and interview. The three people I should go talk to are; Mr. Yan, Ms. Lu and Mr. Duan. Mr, Duan knows a lot about physical wellness, which might help me. Ms. Liu, makes shoes with her friends, and is someone Ms Mai knows, so I could talk to her. Mr. Yan, is an interesting old man, who has a lot to say, and would be able to provide me with information. Xiao Tang also said, that I should probably also go talk to some of the housekeepers, and cooks, because they might have some information for me.

After looking around in the Linden Centre's library, I finally found one book that might help me. It is called: Falling Leaves by Adeline Yeh. I chose this book because it is a real life story about a little girl growing up in China. I thought it would be relevant, because then I would be able to see what life was like in China long time ago.

Now that I have found some people who I might be able to talk to, I am ready to move onto phase three.

Hi, my name is Christina Manning and I'm 15 years old. Born in Canada with a dual German citizenship, I have lived in countless countries throughout my school years, including Korea, Dubai, and Australia. I am currently in my sophomore year at Shanghai American School. Microcampus was an amazing experience - one I will never forget. It provided me with a new perspective on China, and it's people, which is something that I will always cherish.